menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Ksenia Breivo

Ксения Брейво

Ksenia Breivo (b. 1978) is a successful Russian designer with an extensive international practice in interior design. After finishing her studies as an architect, she went on to complete a design course from the Details School Studio. Now she works on projects in Moscow, London, Vienna, Tbilisi, Sochi and other cities. 

 

“The whole process is important for me, from the idea to the implementation, and until the moment when everything becomes real, and later transforms as time passes. I am inspired by natural materials: stone, wood, glass, rock crystal, paper, metal, textiles, fireclay, gypsum, beeswax, felt. I love experimenting, combining various substances, as it is such an exciting process. Craft is incredibly important to me.  I work with craftsmen all over the world on my items and always look out for like–minded people who appreciate my ideas,” explains the designer. 

 

She feels a connection to the expressive language of French artisans and Italian design geniuses, Gio Ponti and Achille Castiglioni. Ksenia insists on the primary role of space planning and architecture, because for her, this is the basis for combining beauty and functionality. She creates subtle stylish interiors that are characterized by flowing shapes and soft curves.

 

Her style is unique and is born out of the diversity of artistic moods, inseparable from the spirit of innovation. Breivo is looking for new ways in design, both physical and ideological. “I may invent a special type of environment friendly material in time, and focus on it. Respect for the environment is not just a trend, but a deep need to be part of the planet and live in the beauty created by nature.” In each of her projects, she uses local materials as extensively as possible and applies the principles of sustainable development. 

 

About “Vake” bookcase

For Booroom Gallery in 2021, the designer created a Vake concept library shelving unit in two sections, complemented by a bench (limited edition of 8). 

 

The name is chosen after the Vake neighborhoods in Tbilisi, a favorite place for the city's creative intelligentsia. Tbilisi courtyards, full of life, served as an inspiration. The material was solid oak and zebrano veneer. The veneer was cut into fragments and reassembled in specific way. The finished product was brushed and waxed. “It's simple, but this is the power of truly elegant pieces: to make ordinary materials more elegant, interesting, to give them a new look,” says Ksenia. 

 

The shelves are made in the designer’s favorite aesthetics of rounded clear geometry, allowing them to fit perfectly into different interiors. The sections, if arranged in rows, look convincing and monumental and structure the space, setting the scale and rhythm.


DOWNLOAD INFO

menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Ксения Брейво

Ксения Брейво

Ксения Брейво (р. 1978) — успешный российский дизайнер с обширной международной практикой в области интерьеров. Она получила архитектурное образование, после чего закончила Школу-студию «Детали». Сейчас она руководит проектами в Москве, Лондоне, Вене, Тбилиси, Сочи и других городах.

 

«Для меня важен весь процесс, от идеи до воплощения – до момента, когда все становится осязаемым, и после трансформируется с течением жизни. Меня вдохновляют природные материалы камень, дерево, стекло, горный хрусталь, бумага, металл, текстиль, шамот, гипс, воск, войлок. Я много экспериментирую, соединяя различные субстанции и это увлекательный процесс. Ремесло оказывается ключевым в создании моих предметов: я работаю с мастерами по всему миру, и ищу единомышленников, которым нравятся мои идеи», поясняет дизайнер.

 

Уникальность ее языка рождается из разнообразия художественных настроений, неотделимых от духа инноваций, к которым она апеллирует. Брейво ищет новые границы дизайна как физические, так и идеологические.  «Возможно, что со временем я изобрету особенный вид материала — безусловно экологичный — и сосредоточусь в своей работе только на нем. Бережное отношение к окружающему миру это не просто тренд, а потребность быть частью планеты и жить в красоте, созданной природой». В каждом своем проекте она использует местные материалы настолько широко, насколько это возможно, и применяет принципы устойчивого развития. 


О библиотечно стеллаже Vake 

Для Booroom Gallery в 2021 году дизайнер разработала концептуальный библиотечный стеллаж VAKE из двух секций, а также дополняющую скамью (limited edition of 8). 

 

Предмет назван в честь района Vake в Тбилиси, который всегда был излюбленным местом для творческой интеллигенции города. Вдохновением для создания библиотеки послужили тбилисские дворы, в которых кипит жизнь. Материалом послужили массив дуба и шпон зебрано. Шпон был на фрагменты и собран вновь таким образом, чтобы получился определенный рисунок. Готовое изделие было брашировано и покрыто воском. «Все просто, но в этом и заключается сила изящных предметов: сделать доступные материалы более элегантными, интересными, придать им новое звучание», утверждает Ксения.

 

Блоки выполнены в излюбленной эстетике скругленной четкой геометрии, что позволяет вписывать их в идеологически различные интерьеры. Это вещь, которая структурирует пространство, задает месту масштаб и ритм — секции, скомпонованные в ряды, выглядят убедительно и монументально.   


DOWNLOAD INFO