menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Tomonari Hashimoto

Томонари Хашимото

Tomonari Hashimoto (b. 1990) belongs to a new generation of ceramic artists who are challenging the world by their incredible new techniques. His unique multi–layered works are strict and complicated at the same time. Experiments with material, form and aesthetics already brought him the fame of one of the most promising masters of our time. He was a finalist for the LOEWE Craft Prize in 2019. The jury was truly struck by the technique that made ceramics look like a mix of oxidized and rusty metal. 

 

The rough structure of these sculptures, reminiscent of buckwheat peels, is obtained in the process of multi–layer firing. It is based on several traditional Japanese methods of working with clay: the “tsuchi” effect and the “seto yaki” type of ceramics. But buckwheat peels are really poured into the kiln, which the artist creates anew for each object each time.

 

“My work is built through accumulation of clay and never carved away. It is fired with a glaze saturated with metal oxides, then again fired and carbonized to bring out the character of the metals onto the surface. I have to build a kiln specific to each of my work every time I fire to carbonize them,” explains the ceramist. 

 

All the pieces are strictly made by hand, even though their perfection and precision of contours seem to be achieved with the help of machines. The sizes of objects can vary from 30 cm to two meters in height and the process of their creation is complicated and time–consuming, as it can take up to 8 hours to produce one part.

 

“I always think about what a piece should be, what place it should belong to and why it exists in this way and no other. I think it's important to pay attention to objects, and at the same time to rediscover yourself in the process of creating them,” — says Hashimoto.  — “I was obsessed with things like origami, plastic models, old buddha statues when I was young. And seeing my father’s life–size sculptures made of bronze and plaster was a normal part of my daily life. I was attracted to old objects and objects with profound and material sense that exceeded my height, and I admired them in a way. I also liked seeing the plants and trees in the garden from the window, and the mountains that stretched in the background”. 

 

The ceramist's style was influenced by major contemporary artists such as Richard Serra, Isamu Noguchi and Anish Kapoor. The artist reflects on poetic images and the essence of things, and names his works "Red Moon", "Night Dream" or "Introspection". It serves as an emphasis that depth and perseverance are the basis of his creative vision.


DOWNLOAD INFO

menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Томонари Хашимото

Томонари Хашимото

Томонари Хашимото (р. 1990) принадлежит к новому поколению художников-керамистов, бросающих вызов с помощью невероятных техник. Его уникальные многослойные работы строги и сложны одновременно. Эксперименты с материалом, формой и эстетикой уже принесли ему славу одного из самых многообещающих мастеров современности. В 2019 году он стал финалистом конкурса LOEWE Craft Prize. Жюри поразила техника, при которой керамика выглядит как микс окисленного и ржавого металла.


Шероховатая структура этих скульптур, напоминающая гречневую шелуху, получается в процессе многослойного обжига — она основана сразу на нескольких традиционных японских способах работы с глиной: эффекте «цути» и типе керамики «сето яки». При этом в печь для обжига, которую художник каждый раз создает заново для каждого объекта, действительно засыпается гречневая шелуха. 


«Мой процесс создания строится за счет накопления глины я никогда не вырезаю объекты. Готовая вещь сначала обжигается с помощью глазури, насыщенной оксидами металлов, затем снова обжигается и карбонизируется, чтобы подчеркнуть характер переливов металла на поверхности. Мне приходится каждый раз строить печь для каждой из моих работ», поясняет керамист. 


Работы выполняются только вручную, однако создается впечатление, будто их совершенство и точность контуров достигнуты с помощью станков. При этом размеры объектов варьируются от 30 см до двух метров в высоту: процесс их создания сложный и трудоемкий — на изготовление одной детали может уйти до 8 часов.


«Я думаю о том, какой вещь должна быть, какому месту принадлежать – и почему она существует именно таким образом, и никаким другим. Мне кажется важным уделять внимание объектам — и в то же время познавать себя при их создании», говорит Хашимото, — «В детстве я был одержим такими вещами, как оригами, пластиковые модели, старые статуи Будды. И видеть отцовские скульптуры из бронзы и гипса в натуральную величину было обычной частью моей повседневной жизни. Меня привлекали старые вещи и предметы с глубоким смыслом, и часто они превосходили меня по величине, что меня бесконечно восхищало. И вместе с тем мне нравилось видеть из окон растения и деревья в саду и горы на заднем плане».


На стиль керамиста повлияли крупные современные художники — Ричард Серра, Исаму Ногучи и Аниш Капур. Художник размышляет о поэтических образах и сути вещей – и называет работы «Красная луна», «Ночной сон» или «Самоанализ». Он подчеркивает, что глубина и стойкость оказываются основой его творческого мировоззрения.


DOWNLOAD INFO