menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Paul Bergignat

Поль Бержина

A French artist Paul Bergignat (b. 1954) was born near Lille and now lives in Cévennes. He graduated from the Higher National School of Applied Arts and Crafts in Paris. After receiving his diploma, he worked as a professional architect in Lyon, and Montpellier, while still continuing his practice as an artist. However, in 2006 he left architecture to devote himself to painting. He had exhibitions across the world in numerous galleries and museums since then, and in 2019 he held a retrospective called RÉMANENCES. 

 

Two artists had a major influence on the work of the French painter: Turner's paintings filled with light and the ephemeral transparency of Zhao Wuji's canvases. Bergignat's landscapes are also part of the search for transparency and light. He creates meditative images, as if frozen in time and space and uses a finely selected colour scheme and exquisite perspective. The master balances on a fragile edge of the transitional state of the soul, turning to the subconscious. 

 

The base for his paintings is canvas and wood. He admits a fascination with all things natural: “Essentially my method is as organic as everything in nature–starting from natural materials like linen, which I consistently use in all three stages of creating paintings. Besides that, I also choose the most ancient wood painting technique, known back in ancient Egypt — it gives beautiful effects.” 

 

The artist comments: “My creative process always starts with imagination. It is like my landscapes; it develops and ends just as slowly as timeless natural states between the real and the unreal. However, the main thing is the relationship between material and non–material. As an artist, I need to achieve this goal. This hard to define gray zone, located just between the figurative and the non–figurative."


DOWNLOAD INFO
Works

menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Поль Бержина

Поль Бержина

Поль Бержина (р. 1954) французский художник, родившийся недалеко от Лилля, а сейчас живущий в Севенне. Учился в Высшей национальной школе прикладного искусства и ремесел в Париже. После получения диплома он стал профессионально заниматься архитектурой в Лионе, а затем в Монпелье, не прекращая художественной практики. Однако оставил архитектуру в 2006 году, чтобы посвятить себя живописи. С тех пор его выставки прошли в многочисленных галереях и музеях: в 2019 году состоялась его ретроспектива под названием RÉMANENCES.


Два художника повлияли на творчество французского живописца: это наполненные светом картины Уильяма Тернера и эфемерная прозрачность полотен Чжао Уцзи. Пейзажи Бержина тоже оказываются частью поисков этой прозрачности и света. Он обращается к медитативным образам, словно замершим во времени и пространстве, использует тонко подобранную цветовую гамму и изысканную перспективу. Мастер балансирует на хрупкой грани, где можно почувствовать переходное состояние души, и обращается к подсознанию.

 

В качестве основы для изображений он использует холст и дерево. Он признается, что все природное увлекает его: «По существу мой метод так же органичен, как все в природе – начиная от натуральных материалов подобных льну, которые я последовательно использую на всех трех этапах создания картин. Я также выбираю древнейшую технику росписи по дереву, которая была известна еще в древнем Египте: она дает красивые эффекты».  

 

Художник комментирует: «Мой творческий процесс всегда начинается с воображения. Он подобен моим пейзажам — он так же медленно развивается и завершается, как вневременные природные состояния между реальным и нереальным. Однако главным в моей работе оказывается соотношение между материальным и нематериальным — как художнику мне необходимо достигнуть этой цели. Это неопределимая серая зона, расположенная между фигуративным и нефигуративным».


DOWNLOAD INFO
Works