menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Charles Kalpakian

Шарль Калпакян

Charles Kalpakian was born in Beirut, Lebanon in 1982. After a long collaboration with the prestigious design firms OraIto and Christophe Pillet, in 2011 Charles opened his studio to develop original objects. Over the past decade, he has become a prominent figure in collectible design. 

 

“I’m considering myself as an Artist–Designer who evolves in a multi—disciplinary world. The client doesn’t see the differences between paintings, sculptures and collectible furniture. The trend was always Art in general. It’s linked to our society and our way of life,” says the artist. 

 

His practice includes collaboration with leading galleries, exhibition institutions and museums, among them Design Miami and the Collectible exhibition in Brussels, where he showcased his 3D–wood experiments created during the lockdown.

 

The designer's style was influenced by his strong oriental identity, French craft traditions and urban contemporary culture. A pure visual language was born from this radical mix, reminiscent of calligraphy in space. Kalpakian relies on the laws of optical art and optical illusions, and expresses them through sophisticated objects. He rethinks the ideas of arts and crafts in a modern way, especially by using various materials. 

 

“The material is the strong link to the creation process. It’s very important to me to highlight my relationship between handcrafted, craftsmanship and industrial techniques. I explore different visual support techniques such as photography, 3D–work, writing, drawings and prototyping in my workshop. Sketching is the method that I use most commonly. I create a collection of furniture and object and it’s very important to have a common plastic and aesthetic approach. Each shape and color are an echo to the collective memory of each person,” says Kalpakian, “For me there is 2 materials, wood and stone. There is a duality and a connection. The warm and the cold. Both can be used in the CNC process and also in craftsmanship way. One can use it in projects of different scale”.

 

About “Castle” collection

In 2022, exclusively for Booroom Gallery, Charles Kalpakian designed the limited “Castle” collection in white onyx and natural tinted ash. He also used travertine (shade "rosso") and Arabescato Orobico Grigio marble. 

 

The largest object of the collection is a sculptural bench. The collection also includes a console, two side tables that double as seats, and a dining table. The key idea of ​​the collection is how various natural elements create a sculptural unity, a combination of vertical and horizontal. The power of a person in the center of an intellectual construct that can transform and create elements. 

 

“I wanted to explore the relationship between men and architecture: they are upright, standing on their feet and strong enough to carry this sculpted wooden architectural beam. This collection is based on my approach to historical architecture.

 

Construction is the first thing we pay attention to in these items. The pillars are made of white onyx, they are like human muscles turned into majestic architectural columns. The geometrically shaped ash seat gives the impression of a futuristic wooden profile from another era. 

 

The simultaneous use of stone and wood was a very difficult task. It was also necessary to create a new way of production that combines modern and artisanal technologies,” explains the designer. 

 

The design of the bench was the result of long and painstaking work. For several months, the designer was working on the ideal shape, and then selected the stone from dozens of shades of white onyx. The final choice is the one that is now displayed in the finished product. Limited edition of 8 copies.


DOWNLOAD INFO

menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Шарль Калпакян

Шарль Калпакян

Шарль Калпакян родился в Бейруте, Ливан, в 1982 году. В 2011 году, после долгого сотрудничества с престижными дизайн-бюро OraIto и Christophe Pillet, Шарль открыл свою студию для разработки собственных проектов. За последнее десятилетие он стал заметной фигурой коллекционного дизайна.

 

«Я считаю себя художником-дизайнером, который развивается в междисциплинарном мире. Зачастую клиент не вид разницы между картинами, скульптурами и коллекционной мебелью. В тренде всегда было искусство вообще. Это связано с нашим обществом и нашим образом жизни», утверждает художник.

 

В его практике – сотрудничество с ведущими галереями, выставочными институциями и музеями – Design Miami, брюссельской выставкой Collectible, где он показывал свои созданные за время локдауна 3-D-эксперименты с деревом.

 

На стиль дизайнера повлияли его сильная восточная идентичность, французские ремесленные традиции и городская современная культура. В этом радикальном миксе родился чистый визуальный язык, напоминающий каллиграфию в пространстве. Калпакян опирается на законы оптического искусства и оптических иллюзий, и выражает их посредством утонченных предметов. Он переосмысливает мотивы декоративно-прикладного искусства в актуальном ключе особенно в обращении с различными материалами.

 

«Материал прочно связывает весь процесс создания, который в свою очередь неразрывен с проектом. Для меня важно подчеркнуть связь между ручной работой, ремеслом и промышленными технологиями. В своей мастерской я изучаю различные методы визуальной поддержки, такие как фотография, 3D-работа, письмо, рисунки и прототипирование. Скетчинг — это метод, который я использую чаще всего. Я создаю коллекции мебели и предметов, и очень важно иметь единый пластический и эстетический подход. Каждая форма и цвет это отголосок коллективной памяти каждого человека», говорит Калпакян, «Дерево и камень особенно важны для меня в них есть двойственность и многообразие. Оба этих материала - теплый и холодный могут быть использованы в процессе ЧПУ, а также в ремесленных техниках. Оба прекрасно подходят для различных по масштабу проектов».

 

О коллекции “Castle”

В 2022 году специально для Booroom Gallery Шарль Калпакян разработал лимитированную коллекцию “Castle” из белого оникса и натурального тонированного ясеня. Также использовался травертин (оттенок «россо») и мрамор типа Arabescato Orobico Grigio.

 

Самый масштабный объект скульптурная скамья. В коллекцию также входят консоль, два приставных столика, выполняющих одновременно функцию сидений, и обеденный столКлючевая идея коллекции в том, как различные природные элементы создают скульптурное единство, как сочетаются вертикаль и горизонталь. Как человек, являющийся центром интеллектуальной конструкции, может преобразовывать и создавать элементы.

 

«Я исследовал соотношение между человеком и архитектурой: они вертикальны, стоят на ногах и достаточно прочны, чтобы нести эту скульптурную деревянную архитектурную балку. Эта коллекция основана на моем подходе к исторической архитектуре. Конструкция первое, на что мы обращаем внимание в этих предметах. Опоры выполнены из белого оникса, они подобны человеческим мышцам, превращенным в архитектурные величественные колонны. Сиденье геометрической формы, изготовленное из ясеня, создает впечатление футуристического деревянного профиля, пришедшего из другой эпохи.

 

Одновременное использование камня и дерева было очень сложной задачей. Также было необходимо создать новый способ производства, сочетающий современные и ремесленные технологии», поясняет дизайнер.

 

Конструкция скамьи стала результатом долгой и кропотливой работы. На протяжении нескольких месяцев дизайнер продумывал идеальную форму, а затем подбирал камень — из десятков оттенков белого оникса был выбран тот, что сейчас отображен в готовом изделии. Лимитированный тираж — 8 экземпляров.


DOWNLOAD INFO