menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Armelle Benoit

Армель Бенуа

Armelle Benoit (b. 1961) is an acclaimed French ceramist with genuine know–how. In her works, she only uses French materials and unique techniques, many invented by herself. Her creations were exhibited at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris and have become the favorites of many art shows: the AD Matières d'Art session held at the Palais d'Iéna in 2021, the exhibition Le Decor, De La Couleur… Au Blanc in the museum Bernard Palissy. 

 

After Armelle Benoit graduated from the École des Beaux–Arts in Paris in 1983, together with Jacqueline Lerat she founded a duo that worked on the fine line between traditional handicraft ceramic techniques (kiln firing) and contemporary art. In 1986, Armelle founded her own art workshop in Anjou, where she developed a range of unique ceramic colours and shades. The artist asked fundamental questions about the boundaries between painting and applied decor, design and sculpture, and found non–trivial answers to them. 

 

“Creativity for me is the story of an encounter, an exploration of desire. I am inspired by word, colour and shape. I use everything that allows me to draw lines and sketch, such as watercolour, gouache, black pencil, ballpoint pen, marker. The material aspect of any substance, be it earth or clay in any of its forms (faience, porcelain stoneware, porcelain) allows me to create a volume and reach the desired contours. Build them, bring them to life. Everything is connected: desire enables the drawing to take shape, to exist more fully in it,” the artist explains.

 

In 2000, Armelle Benoit was the recipient of the Villa Medicis Hors les Murs award and also received an AFAA grant to travel to Mexico. After several years of traveling through India, Mexico, Vietnam and Sicily, during which she researched the ancient techniques of local artists and their traditional ceramics, she rethought and updated these methods to create modern items for everyday life. The artist believes in the advantage of the French craft and its influence on the ceramic tradition of other countries. 

 

She is convinced that: “The turn towards environmental development and the need for a profound transformation of society are forcing us to return to raw materials that limit the pollution of the planet. That is why clay is so highly valued and stands out among other materials. More and more architects nowadays are turning to the earth, after the period in which it was replaced with concrete half a century ago.” 

 

About “Celestial Body” table

Exclusively for Booroom Gallery in 2021, Armelle Benoit created a ceramic sculptural table “Celestial Body” made of glazed ceramics (limited edition of 8). As the artist admits, this is a poetic metaphor for the luminous fiery celestial body that appeared in the winter Moscow landscape: “this star fell in love with snow so much that she wrapped herself in it.” White and blue drops of glaze envelop the asymmetrical table from all sides.


DOWNLOAD INFO
Works

menu
ru | en
ARTIST

Армель Бенуа

Армель Бенуа

Армель Бенуа (р. 1961) — прославленная французская керамистка, обладающая подлинными ноу-хау. Она настаивает в своем творчестве на использовании французских материалов и уникальных техник, многие из которых изобретены ею самой. Ее объекты экспонировались в парижском Музее декоративного искусства и становились фаворитами арт-шоу, в которых она принимала участие: сессии AD Matières d'Art, проходившей в Palais d’Iéna в 2021 году, выставке Le Decor, De La Couleur… Au Blanc в музее Bernard-Palissy.  

 

Армель Бенуа закончила парижскую Школу изящных искусств в 1983 году, и после вместе с Жаклин Лера (Jacqueline Lerat) основала дуэт, работавший на тонкой грани между традиционными ремесленными керамическими техниками (обжиг в печи) и современным искусством. В 1986 году Армель основала свою художественную мастерскую в Анжу, где разработала линейку уникальных керамических цветов и оттенков. Художница ставила перед собой фундаментальные вопросы о границах между живописью и прикладным декором, дизайном и скульптурой — и находила на них нетривиальные ответы.

 

«Творчество для меня это история встречи, исследование желания. Слово, цвет и форма стимулируют мое воображение. Акварель, гуашь, черный карандаш, шариковая ручка, маркер – я использую все, что позволяет мне наносить линии, делать наброски. Материальность любой субстанции земли, глины в том или ином виде (фаянс, керамогранит, фарфор)  позволяет мне создавать объемы и приближаться к нужным контурам. Строить их, оживлять их. Все связано: желание дает возможность рисунку обрести форму, более полно существовать в ней», поясняет художница.

 

В 2000 году Армель Бенуа стала лауреатом премии Villa Medicis Hors les Murs, а также получила грант AFAA для поездки в Мексику. После нескольких лет путешествий по Индии, Мексике, Вьетнаму и Сицилии, во время которых она исследовала древние техники местных художников и их традиционную керамику, она модернизировали эти методы, чтобы создавать современные предметы для повседневной жизни. Художница верит в неоспоримое преимущество французского ремесла — и в то, что именно оно оказывает настоящее влияние на керамическую традицию других стран.

 

Она убеждена: «Поворот, который сейчас совершает мир в сторону экологического развития, и необходимость глубокого преобразования общества заставляют нас вернуться к сырью, ограничивающему загрязнение планеты. Именно поэтому глина так высоко ценится и выделяется среди других материалов. Все больше современных архитекторов обращаются к земле, которую полвека назад заменили бетоном». 

 

About Celestial Body table

Специально для Booroom Gallery в 2021 г. Армель Бенуа создала керамический скульптурный столик “Celestial Body” из глазурованной керамики (limited edition of 8). Этот объект, как признается художница, — поэтическая метафора светящегося огненного небесного тела, проявившемся в зимнем московском пейзаже: «эта звезда так полюбила снег, что завернулась в него». Бело-голубые капли глазури облекают асимметричный по форме столик со всех сторон.


DOWNLOAD INFO
Works